Local government notes include another week of early voting in SPLOST referendums

Franklin, Elbert, Jackson, Oconee counties to vote on March 16

Today marks the start of the second of three weeks of early voting in sales tax referendums in four northeast Georgia counties: election day is March 16, with voters in Franklin, Elbert, Jackson, and Oconee counties deciding penny-on-the-dollar sales tax proposals.

Madison County Commissioners meet, 6 o’clock this evening at the Madison County Government Complex in Danielsville. Oglethorpe County Commissioners convene at 6 at the courthouse in Lexington, while their Jackson County Commission counterparts meet, also at 6 o’clock, at the Jackson County courthouse in Jefferson.

This evening’s Oconee County School Board meeting is set for 6 o’clock at School District headquarters on School Street in Watkinsville.

There is an afternoon meeting of the Elberton City Council, a 5:30 session at Elberton City Hall.

Tim Bryant

Tim Bryant hosts Classic City Today, 6-10 weekday mornings on 98.7FM & AM 1340 WGAU in Athens.

amazon alexa

Enable our Skill today to listen live at home on your Alexa Devices!